Adjacent to the stunning Clifton Suspension Bridge, the Clifton observatory finds itself in the midst of blissful pastures that stretch along the banks of River Avon. Originally built as a windmill, and later turned into a snuff mill, its internal features were damaged beyond repair by a fire that occurred in 1777. The mill was converted into an observatory by William West after more than 50 years of dormancy. It is equipped with a powerful rotating mirror known as the Camera Obscura that sits on its roof, reflecting a succession of panoramic views of the surrounding landscape onto a dish-shaped screen. The observatory's founder also dug a tunnel that ends at the mouth of Ghyston's cave. Creating a striking imagery with its 18th-century heritage and its interesting past, the Clifton Observatory promises a fascinating experience.