The Godesburg is one of the castles which can be found in this part of the Romantic Rhine area. Building first began in 1210 on the site of a Roman and then Frankish memorial to the dead. It was commissioned by the Cologne archbishop Dietrich von Hengebach. In the Middle Ages, Cologne princes particularly liked to come here. The castle was blown up during the siege by Bavarian troops in the Truchsian war against the Cologne prince Gebhard Truchseß, who sided with the Reformation. Since then, only the picturesque castle ruins can be seen - and many Rhine romanticists portray these ruins in their paintings. In 1960 the castle was restored and a restaurant and hotel were built. The adjoining Michaelskapelle (Chapel) was extended into a nave at the end of the seventeenth century and the Baroque decoration inside is particularly worth seeing. The castle cemetery is the final resting place of many prominent Godesberg families. The Jewish cemetery is also found in the middle of the castle cemetery, and dates back to the 16th century.