This breathtaking hall was constructed in 1893, slightly northwest of the site where the original 1849 fort marked the city's beginning. This is the third courthouse to be built on this site; the first burned in 1876, while the second was demolished to make way for a larger building. When it was constructed, the building's USD500,000 price tag so angered the citizens that they voted the county commissioners out of office. The building itself, with its red granite walls and four-faced Seth Thomas clock in the tower, was designed by the Kansas City firm Gunn & Curtis. It was restored in 1983 and still functions as a courthouse. The public may request free tours.