The largest park in Paris was originally a forest named Vilcena which surrounded Lutèce (the Gaul name for Paris) and became the property of the King in the 11th Century. Following its destruction during the Revolution, the army installed themselves here in 1794. It was only in 1857 that Napoleon III decided to transform it into an English-style park and it took three years of work. Today, it looks very much the way it did after the renovations: vast lawns, charming paths and a stunning network of waterfalls, islands and pools. The three lakes, Minimes, Saint Mandé and Gravelle were put in at this time. When the city of Paris took over the park in 1860, they added the lac de Daumesnil. Visitors can rent boats on the lakes, explore the tropical garden, the Buddhist and Tibetan temples and visit the Musée des Arts Africains et Océaniens.